Willingness to Forgive Yourself and Others?

We’re all deserving of forgiveness, for we are human

Shadows Pub
3 min readDec 26, 2021
Image by Author

This time of year I spend time exploring through quotes. I’m assembling the sets of prompts for Prompt A Day and there is a quote in each set. Some of the quotes speak to me and get me nodding. Occasionally I come across one that gets a WTF reaction from me. Like this one:

image by author

I’ve either totally missed the point here or this Ausonius is totally out to lunch in my opinion. He was a Roman poet and teacher in what is now Bordeaux, France. Born in 310 AD and died 395 AD.

Many people struggle with the idea of forgiveness. They often equate the idea with letting someone away with a a wrong they have done. The more the wrong has hurt you, the harder it is to let go.

I’ve had that struggle more than once. Some I’ve never really given forgiveness for. Others I’ve been able to and move on.

One of the lessons I have learned about forgiveness is that I don’t have to actually tell the offending party I’ve forgiven them. Choosing not to forgive is energy that I am spending, it’s hurt I’m nursing and holding onto. Even if I don’t…

--

--

Shadows Pub

Writer | Publisher — I write what catches my interest. A lot catches my interest. I create books to use. Life is a marathon, set your pace & enjoy the trip.